WALLS

WALLS takes its shape and draws inspiration from the unconventional repurposing of a common building material: plasterboard that is used to construct interior walls. We’ve been attracted to this material, its texture, its pastel colours, its fragility, for quite some time. Its angular form, with softer edges, allows it to take on an endless variety of shapes. The plaster dust it sheds resembles flour on a baker’s table.

Plasterboard’s neutral appearance and soothing softness contrast with its ultimate purpose: separation. Italo Calvino wrote: “If you build a wall, think of what you leave outside”. This notion has never ceased to be relevant. There is always an outside, an inside, and in between, a wall. Between thoughts, civilisations, individuals, living beings, there are walls on which people write, advertise, draw and there are walls where people piss and carry out executions.

 

In WALLS, there is building, deconstructing, moving, replacing, erecting, demolishing, composing, dividing, uniting, manipulating, breaking, embracing. And there is loving. Bodies converge with the material, then dislocate to better meld together. Divisions, appearances, disappearances, multiplications. A space between two spaces. After an era of relative, and perhaps utopian, free movement of persons, WALLS is an allegory bearing witness to the barriers that civilisations are once again erecting everywhere.

Katarzyna Gdaniec & Marco Cantalupo

Production 2018 - flow

flow mark the first collaboration between Compagnie Linga and KEDA, the French- Korean duo formed by Mathias Delplanque, electronic musician, and E'Joung Ju, player of geomungo (traditional Korean string instrument). Their duo, formed in 2010, counterpoises the ancestral sonorities of geomungo with textures, rhythms and electronic treatments.

With the hypnotic, warm, dancing and stateless folk music of Keda, specially composed for the piece and performed on stage, we imagine for our dancers a joyful kinaesthetic experience, original and jubilant.

ONA

Seven women breathe life and creativity into this project. Ona (Polish word for "she") fathoms the bonding moments shared by these artists and dancers, when personalities merge and transcend.

Tabula

In TABULA, the rules of the game are constantly changed by the impressive set movements. Here space is keyword. A space that is shared, conquered, and claimed by the eight dancers, who provide a highly-sensitive, contrasting, and powerful interpretation.

solographies

Three performers with very distinctive backgrounds will give birth to this project, having chosen the solo format to fully reveal the artist's intimacy. They will appear onstage for a piece of intimate dialogue, public confrontation and self-questioning.

re-mapping the body

Equipped with wireless physiological sensors the dancers transform the movements in sound, creating the sound track of the piece.

falling grace

In Falling grace we search the point of inflexion where everything can crumble or be restablished. Acclaimed and commercialized, what society calls balance results in a desire for domination and control.

no.thing

For this creation we started with a questioning: can the authenticity of a gesture still provoke an emotion at the era of superficial physical performances and multiplication of ostentatious images?

WALLS

WALLS prend sa forme et son inspiration de l’utilisation - détournée - d’un matériau ordinaire du bâtiment : les plaques de carton plâtre servant à la construction de murs intérieurs. Nous avons depuis longtemps été attirés par ce matériau, sa texture, ses couleurs pastel, sa fragilité. Ses formes rectangulaires, légèrement arrondies, se déclinent à l’infini. Les poussières de plâtre qui en émanent ressemblent à la farine de la table du boulanger.

La neutralité et la douceur apaisante de ces plaques contrastent avec le but final de leur utilisation: la séparation. Italo Calvino écrivait : «Si tu dresses un mur, pense à ce que tu laisses dehors», cette pensée ne cesse d’être d’actualité. Il y a toujours un dehors, un dedans et, entre deux, un mur. Entre les pensées, les civilisations, les hommes, les êtres, il y a des murs sur lesquels l’on écrit, affiche, dessine, contre lesquels l’on pisse et exécute.

Dans WALLS, on construit, déconstruit, déplace, remplace, érige, démolit, compose, sépare, réunit, manipule, casse, embrasse. On aime aussi. Les corps se confondent dans la matière, se désarticulent pour mieux fusionner. Divisions, apparitions, disparitions, multiplications. Un espace entre deux espaces. Une allégorie, un témoignage des multiples barrières que les civilisations, après une période de relative et peut-être utopique libre circulation des êtres, érigent à nouveau un peu partout.

Katarzyna Gdaniec & Marco Cantalupo

flow - Linga & Keda

flow marque notre première collaboration avec Keda, un duo Franco-Coréen formé par E’Joung-Ju et Mathias Delplanque qui aime à confronter les sonorités ancestrales du geomungo à des textures, rythmes et traitements électroniques contemporains.

Avec une partition expressément composée pour la pièce, nous avons imaginé pour nos danseurs et pour le public une expérience kinesthésique libératoire, originelle et jubilatoire.

Katarzyna Gdaniec et Marco Cantalupo

ONA

Sept femmes donnent leur souffle et leur créativité à ce projet. Artistes, danseuses, complices, Ona sonde leurs moments de rencontre propices à la fusion des individualités, à leur transcendance.

Tabula

Dans TABULA, les règles du jeu sont constamment modifiées par les mouvements d’une scénographie imposante. La pièce explore les variations spatiales que permettent deux tables monumentales, aussi bien dans l’immobilité de «cènes» contemporaines que dans l’agitation d’une dispute de périmètre.

Solographies

Trois interprètes aux univers bien contrastés donnent vie à ce projet qui explore la forme du solo pour révéler l’artiste dans toute son intimité. Elles rejoignent la scène le temps d’un dialogue intime, d’une confrontation en public, d’une remise en question.

re-mapping the body

Equipés de capteurs pour l'acquisition de données physiologiques et grâce à un système interactif les danseurs transforment leurs mouvements en son, créant la musique de la pièce.

falling grace

Dans Falling grace nous fouillons ce point d’inflexion où tout peut s’écrouler ou se rétablir. L’équilibre, traditionnellement présenté par la société comme un bienfait et un objectif ultime résulte d’un désir de contrôle et n’est toujours que transitoire

no.thing

Pour cette création nous sommes partis d'un questionnement: l’authenticité d’un geste peut-elle encore émouvoir à dans cette ère de performances physiques superficielles et de multiplication d’images ostentatoires?